Click here to skip to content

List of Donors

The British Library would like to thank all those who have given their support, including:


Indian Ministry of Culture

Qatar Foundation

Donors and Supporters

The American Trust for the British Library

The Andor Charitable Trust

Apax Partners

The Arcadia Fund

The Art Fund

William and Judith Bollinger

The British Academy

The British Council

BP Plc

London Borough of Camden

Casa Asia

Charlotte Bonham-Carter Charitable Trust

The Ernest Cook Trust

Corpus Inscriptionum Iranicarum

The Coutts Charitable Trust

The Dorset Foundation

Dr Naim E Dangoor, The Exilarch’s  Foundation

The Eccles Centre

The European Commission Culture Programme

The Esmee Fairbairn Foundation

Judith Fairhurst

Allan and Nesta Ferguson Charitable Settlement

The Finnish Feng Shui Association

The Friends of the British Library

The Friends of the National Libraries

The Garfield Weston Foundation

J Paul Getty Jnr Charitable Trust

The Golsoncott Foundation

Dr Michael Gould

The Headley Trust

The Helen Hamlyn Trust

Heritage Lottery Fund

The Holbeck Charitable Trust

The Harold Hyam Wingate  Foundation

The International Research Institute of Advanced Buddhology at Soka University, Japan

Iran Heritage Foundation

Jamsetji Tata Trust

(JISC) Joint Information Systems Council

Michael G Katakis and Dr Kris L Hardin

Sir Anthony Kenny

Sir James Knott Trust

Research Institute of Korean Studies, Korea University

The A G Leventis Foundation

The Leverhulme Trust

London Development Agency

John Lyon’s Charity

Marina, Lady Marks  

The Michael Marks Charitable Trust

Martin James Gordon Moir and Kay Helena Scholastica Parkes

The National Heritage Memorial Fund

The Stavros Niarchos Foundation

PACCAR Foundation Europe  

The Pilgrim Trust

Mark C Pigott OBE

The Austin and Hope Pilkington Trust

The Radcliffe Trust

Sir John Ritblat and the Ritblat Family

International Partners Charity Fund in memory of Mel Seiden

The Sino-British Fellowship Trust

Sir Ratan Tata Trust

The Trusthouse Charitable Foundation

The Wellcome Trust

The Wolfson Foundation

The World Collections Programme

British Library Patrons

Shakespeare Patrons

The Most Hon the Marquess of Salisbury

Austen Patrons

Judith Bollinger

The Clore Duffield Foundation

Dr Naim E Dangoor, The Exilarch’s  Foundation

The Hon Simon Eccles

Lord and Lady Egremont

Mercedes and Michael Hoffman

Michael G Katakis and Dr Kris L Hardin

The Salomon Oppenheimer   Philanthropic Foundation

Stephen and Chantry Westwell

Woolf Patrons

William Arah

Sir David Arculus, Chair, Advisory Board

Mr Edgar Astaire

Sirdar Aly Aziz

The Andor Charitable Trust

The Nicholas Bacon Charitable Trust

The BAND Trust

Mrs S Brada

The Lord Browne of Madingley

Mr David Buckley

Mr Raymond Burton 

Alison Carnwath and Peter Thomson

Lord Charles Cecil

Lillian and Lincoln Chin

The John S Cohen Foundation

Mr Gordon Dawes

Michael and Bell Diamond

Sarah and Louis Elson

Sam Fogg

Helena Frost

Jacqueline and Jonathan Gestetner

Lady Hamlyn

Derek Hendriksen

Dr R C and Mrs H Herron

Stephen and Felice Hodges

Sir Christopher and Lady Howes

The Inchcape Foundation

J R de J Jackson and H J Jackson

Bill Knight and Stephanie Williams

Brian and Lesley Knox

Mark and Liza Loveday

Sir Colin Lucas

Genevieve Muinzer and Nick Segal

Joanna and Nigel Newton

Michael Palin CBE

Julia Paton

Dr Jean R Perrette

Madeleine and Timothy Plaut

Brian Pomeroy CBE and Dr Hilary Pomeroy

Mrs Mortimer Sackler

Henri Schiller

Ms Louisa Service OBE

David and Emma Verey

Mr and Mrs Michael Wilson

Dr Bill Zachs


Adopt A Book Benefactors

Lara Atkin

Dr S A Eliatamby

Helena Frost

Mary Godwin

Metropolitan Police Sikh Association

Muintir Uí Lochlainn (ÓLochlainn Clan)

Dr John Parker in memory of his wife Valerie Parker (née Duguid)

In Memoriam Geoffrey Metcalfe Peel

ULEMHAS, Birkbeck Alumni History of Art Society

And many others.


Corporate Sponsors

Bouygues UK

The Folio Society


Hewlett Packard

Microsoft Research Ltd


Pan Macmillan



Dr Edward Pennington Abson

Dr Henry D Ginsburg

Clive John Nowell

Dr Joyce I Skinner

Dione R Clementi

Phil Jefferies

Michael Kottka

David and Mary Medd

Mary Eccles

James W Stone

Frederick W Wilson


Patrons and Benefactors of National Life Stories

The Arcadia Fund

Authors’ Licensing and Collecting  Society

Heathside Charitable Trust

Roxanne Levy and Brian Wruble

PF Charitable Trust

Mathew Prichard

Rootstein Hopkins Foundation

Lord Sainsbury of Preston Candover

Foundation for Sport and the Arts

Ludmila and Hodson Thornber

Yale Center for British Art


American Trust for the British Library


Chairman’s Council

Mr George B Adams

Mrs Charlotte P Armstrong

Mr Roger S Baskes

Mr R Dyke Benjamin

Dr and Mrs Paul Cushman Jr

The Hon Simon Eccles

Ms Emily H Fine

Mr Thomas Garrett

Mr William B Ginsberg

Mrs Catherine Morrison Golden

Ms Sibyl R Golden

Mr Michael G Katakis and Dr Kris L Hardin

Mr Lansing Lamont

Mr Jon A Lindseth

Mr R David Parsons

Mr Howard Phipps Jr

Mr David N Redden

Mrs Ruth E Robinson

Mr James B Sitrick

Mr Stephen Stamas

Mrs Lisa von Clemm

Dr Bill J Zachs

Ms Christine Zuromskis


President’s Circle

Mr and Mrs James Bacon

Ms Jane Gregory Rubin



Mr and Mrs Robert Ashton

Ms Eileen M Curran

Ms Davida Deutsch

Ms Roxanne Levy

Mr Brian Wruble



Katherine Ashton and Brian D Young

Mr Michael Gellert

Ms Cheryl Hurley

Mr Alastair Kirkpatrick

Mr Lester Morse

Mr Andre Newberg and Susan Baring

Mr William S Phelan Jr

Mr and Mrs Daniel Rose

Mr and Mrs Stanley D Scott

Ms Tessa Smith

Mrs Szilvia Szmuk-Tanenbaum

Mr and Mrs George H White III



Bernard H Breslauer

Albert C Christoph III

Dr Naseeb Shaheen

Marian Speyer


Foundations and Matching Gifts

Caritas Foundation of Western Kansas


The Friends of the British Library

Friends Council

The Lord Hameed of Hampstead CBE DL

Dr Christopher Wright

Graham Allatt FCA

Jean-Anne Ashton

Peter Barber

Peter Beal

Amanda Benton

Dr Ruth Coman

Nina Evans

Frances Hawkins

The Lord Hemingford

Stephanie Kenna

Ed King

Robert Kirton

Michael Leapman

Professor Kate McLuskie

David Marcus (until 6 January 2011)

David Shaw

Paul Stevenson

Kathy Wrennall

And others who wish to remain anonymous.

Grants and Donations

Back to top Back to top

By using this site, you agree we can set and use cookies. For more details of these cookies and how to disable them, see our cookie policy.