Click here to skip to content

Freedom of Information Publication Scheme

This page brings together publications relating to the structure of the Library, its organisation, and what we do.

  1. Who we are and what we do
  2. What we spend and  how we spend it
  3. What are our priorities and how are we doing
  4. How we make decisions
  5. Our policies and procedures
  6. Lists and registers
  7. The services we offer

1. Who we are and what we do

Roles and responsibilities

Details of the Executive Team of The British Library and the areas for which they are responsible can be found in the Annual Report.

From 1st October 2013 the Public Lending Right (PLR) became part of the British Library. Information about PLR can be found in the PLR Publication Scheme.


Organisational Structure

Follow these links to download datasets that give details of our Senior Staff and complement. Further details of how areas of responsibility within the organisation are structured are available in the governance page of our current Annual Report, and an online visualisation of our structure can be found on the website.

Trustees, management board members and senior staff

A list of members of the British Library Board.

Information about the status, membership and responsibilities of the British Library Board Committees: Board Audit Committee, Remuneration Committee, 'Whistleblower', Construction Projects Committee and Investment Committee.

The Register of Interests of Board Members lists remunerated directorships, partnerships and trusteeships; remunerated employment or offices; registerable shareholdings; registerable interest in land or property; miscellaneous or unremunerated interests; other interests.

Our locations and public access arrangements

Opening times and address details of our various locations.

Our contact details

Contact details for The British Library.

Subsidiary bodies

The British Library owns no subsidiary bodies. For details of our various sites, see Locations above.

Our history

The British Library Act of 27 July 1972 established a national library for the United Kingdom.

The sponsoring government department of the British Library is the Department for Culture, Media & Sport.

Information about the history of the Library and its constituent parts.

Back to top Back to top

By using this site, you agree we can set and use cookies. For more details of these cookies and how to disable them, see our cookie policy.