Click here to skip to content

The British Library Advisory Council

In order to play a significant role at the centre of the UK’s knowledge network it is essential that the Library obtains good advice on the broad scope of its operations and policies for future developments. The Council helps to ensure that the British Library's plans are formulated and implemented effectively.

The members of the Advisory Council are:


Lord Jay of Ewelme


Robin Adams
Chair, Northern Ireland Publications Resource

Stephen Bourne
Administrator & Chapter Clerk, Ely Cathedral

Tim Brooks
Chief Executive of BMJ and Chairman of NLA Media Access

Ciara Eastell
Head of Libraries, Culture and Heritage, Devon County Council

Professor Tim Hitchcock
Professor of Digital History, University of Sussex.  Co-Director, Old Bailey Online

Liz Jolly
Director, Library and Information Services, Teesside University

Janet Peters
Director of University Libraries and University Librarian, Cardiff University

Dr John Scally
Chief Executive and Librarian, National Library of Scotland

Moira Sinclair
Director, Paul Hamlyn Foundation

Dr Jim Smith
Director, MRC National Institute for Medical Research

Andy Stephens
Former Board Secretary and Head of International Engagement, British Library

Linda Tomos
Chief Executive and Librarian, National Library of Wales

Professor Evelyn Welch
Vice-Principal, Arts and Sciences at King’s College, University of London

British Library Board member Tracy Chevalier also attends Advisory Council meetings to provide a link to the Board.

Back to top Back to top

By using this site, you agree we can set and use cookies. For more details of these cookies and how to disable them, see our cookie policy.