Click here to skip to content

The British Library Advisory Council

In order to play a significant role at the centre of the UK’s knowledge network it is essential that the Library obtains good advice on the broad scope of its operations and policies for future developments. The Council helps to ensure that the British Library's plans are formulated and implemented effectively.

The members of the Advisory Council are:


Tim Brooks
Formerly Chief Executive, BMJ, & Chairman, NLA Media Access


Robin Adams
Chair, NIPR (The National Collection of Northern Ireland Publications)

Ciara Eastell
Chief Executive, Libraries Unlimited

Baroness Falkner of Margravine
House of Lords

Professor Tim Hitchcock
Professor of Digital History, University of Sussex, & Co-Director, Old Bailey Online

Liz Jolly
Director, Library and Information Services, Teesside University

Janet Peters
Director of University Libraries and University Librarian, Cardiff University

Dr John Scally
Chief Executive and Librarian, National Library of Scotland

Moira Sinclair
Director, Paul Hamlyn Foundation

Sir Jim Smith
Director of Science, Wellcome Trust

Andy Stephens
Formerly Board Secretary and Head of International Engagement, British Library

Linda Tomos
Chief Executive and Librarian, National Library of Wales

Pamela Tulloch
Chief Executive, Scottish Library and Information Council

Dr Alyson Tyler
Museums Archives and Libraries Division, Welsh Government

Professor Evelyn Welch
Vice-Principal, Arts and Sciences at King’s College, University of London

British Library Board member Tracy Chevalier also attends Advisory Council meetings to provide a link to the Board.

Back to top Back to top

By using this site, you agree we can set and use cookies. For more details of these cookies and how to disable them, see our cookie policy.