Click here to skip to content

Chairman and members of the Board

These are the current members of the British Library Board. To find out more about any member please select a link in the right-hand column.


Baroness Blackstone


David Barclay - Deputy Chairman (Non-executive Deputy Chairman of John Lewis Partnership plc, Non-executive Director of Wessex Water Services Ltd, and Senior Independent Director of Gartmore Group Ltd)

Dr Robert Black CBE FRSE (formerly Auditor General for Scotland)

Jonathan Callaway BA ACIB JP (a senior banker with over 30 years' experience in the banking industry including ca15 years at Deutsche Bank)

Tracy Chevalier (Author of Girl with a Pearl Earring)

Martin Dickson (formerly Deputy Editor and US Managing Editor of the Financial Times)

Lord Janvrin (Senior Adviser to HSBC Private Bank) Appointed by HM The Queen

Roly Keating (Chief Executive)

Dr Stephen Page (formerly Global Managing Director for Strategic IT Effectiveness at Accenture)

Patrick Plant (formerly Global Head of Real Estate, Linklaters)

Sir John Ritblat (formerly Chairman and CEO of The British Land Company PLC and Chairman of both the Wallace Collection and the London Business School)

Dr Simon Thurley CBE (formerly Chief Executive of English Heritage and Director of the Museum of London)

Prof Dame Helen Wallace DBE CMG FBA (formerly Foreign Secretary, British Academy and formerly Emeritus Professor, London School of Economics and Political Science)

Secretary to the Board

Richard Gibby MA MBA (Head of Governance)

Back to top Back to top

By using this site, you agree we can set and use cookies. For more details of these cookies and how to disable them, see our cookie policy.