Jean Paul Sartre

Nobel prizes: did you know?

Marie Curie won two Nobel Prizes - one for Physics (shared with her husband) and one for Chemistry. Her daughter, Irene Joliot-Curie, was also awarded a Nobel Prize.

The International Committee of the Red Cross has won the Nobel Peace Prize three times (1917, 1944 & 1963).

The youngest Nobel Prize-winner was Lawrence Bragg, who was 25 years old when he received the Physics Prize with his father in 1915.

The oldest Nobel Prize-winner was Raymond Davis Jr who was nearly 88 years old when he was awarded the Physics Prize in 2002.

Two winners have voluntarily declined the Nobel Prize :

  • Jean-Paul Sartre, awarded the 1964 Nobel Prize in Literature.
  • Le Duc Tho, awarded the 1973 Nobel Peace Prize jointly with US Secretary of State Henry Kissinger. They received the Prize for negotiating the Vietnam peace accord.

Four winners have been forced to decline the Nobel Prize :

  • Adolf Hitler forbade three German Nobel Prize-winners, Richard Kuhn, Adolf Butenandt and Gerhard Domagk, to receive the Nobel Prize. They later received the diploma and the medal, but not the Prize money.
  • Boris Pasternak, the 1958 Nobel Prize-winner in Literature, accepted at first but was later forced by the government of the Soviet Union to decline.

The 2005 Nobel Prize-winners

The awards were presented on 10 December (the anniversary of Alfred Nobel's death) in Stockholm.

The 2005 Nobel Prize in Physics

Roy J. Glauber (USA) for “his contribution to the quantum theory of optical coherence”, and John L. Hall (USA) and Theodor W. Hänsch (Germany) for “their contributions to the development of laser-based precision spectroscopy, including the optical frequency comb technique”.

The 2005 Nobel Prize in Chemistry

Yves Chauvin (France), Robert H. Grubbs (USA), and Richard R. Schrock (USA) for “the development of the metathesis method in organic synthesis”.

The 2005 Nobel Prize in Physiology or Medicine

Barry J. Marshall and J. Robin Warren (both Australia) for their discovery that the bacterium Helicobacter pylori causes gastritis and peptic ulcer disease.

The 2005 Nobel Prize in Literature

Harold Pinter (UK) “who in his plays uncovers the precipice under everyday prattle and forces entry into oppression's closed rooms”.

The 2005 Nobel Peace Prize

Mohamed ElBaradei (Egypt) and International Atomic Energy Agency (IAEA) for “their efforts to prevent nuclear energy from being used for military purposes and to ensure that nuclear energy for peaceful purposes is used in the safest possible way”. 

The 2005 Bank of Sweden Prize in Economic Sciences in Memory of Alfred Nobel

Robert J. Aumann (Israel and USA) and Thomas C. Schelling (USA) for “having enhanced our understanding of conflict and cooperation through game-theory analysis”.

Further information on the Nobel Prizes

Header image of Nobel medal © ® The Nobel Foundation