Click here to skip to content

Shakespeare’s First Folio (1623)

Image from Shakespeare's First Folio

Shakespeare's First Folio
British Library G.11631
Copyright © The British Library Board
A high-quality version of this image can be purchased from British Library Images Online. For more information email

The First Folio is the collected edition of Shakespeare's plays, published seven years after his death by Isaac Iaggard and Edward Blount. It was edited or overseen by his fellow actors, John Heminge and Henry Condell, and contains the texts of 36 plays, half of which had not previously been published. The Folio was based on earlier sources (the Quartos) that show the plays as actually performed in the theatre. The title page incorporates a portrait of Shakespeare, engraved by Martin Droeshout

Elsewhere on our websites


Latest events - register free online

Mobile app

For iPhone, iPad and Android