Click here to skip to content

The five-tiered Nyatapola temple at Bhadgaon

The five-tiered Nyatapola temple at Bhadgaon

Artist: Anonymous

Medium: Watercolour

Date: 1845

Shelfmark: Add.Or.5245

Item number: 5245

Length: 23.5

Width: 42.2

Scale: Centimetres

Genre: Drawing

Pencil, wash and watercolour drawing of the five-tiered Nyatapola temple at Bhaktapur, part of the Lawrence collection created by an anonymous artist, c. 1843-1846. The image is set within a broad black frame and inscribed on the front in pencil: 'No. 13. Temple of Bhagabata at Bhatgaon.'

The Nyatapola temple is unusual for the region as it has five storeys and stands on a five tiered base. It was built in about 1700 in the reign of King Bhupatrindamalla (1694-1722). Bhaktapur, the 'City of Devotees' is 11 km east of Kathmandu and 10 km north-east of Patan and is the youngest of the three former city-states of the Kathmandu Valley. Bhaktapur was founded in the 9th century and rose to prominence under the Malla dynasty. It remained a valley kingdom until the late 15th century when it became a sovereign state, together with Kathmandu and Patan. All three have similar architecture and were built around Durbar Squares containing Palace and Temple complexes.

Search within this collection

Elsewhere on our websites


Latest events - register free online

Mobile app

For iPhone, iPad and Android

Report a Concern

What is the nature of your concern?

Report a Concern

What is the nature of your concern?

Email link to a friend

Write a brief note to accompany the email

Your friend's email address: