Tomb from south end of Muhafez [Muhafiz] Khan's mosque
Surveyor: Burgess, James (1832-1916)
Medium: Pen and ink on paper
Pen-and-ink drawing of a tomb from south end of Muhafiz Khan's Mosque at Ahmadabad by Hari Gopal (fl. 1875) dating to between 1884 and 1886. This image is from the Burgess collection, an album of 49 drawings of plans, sections, elevations, sculpture and architectural details of Muslim monuments in Ahmadabad and the surrounding areas made between 1884 and 1886. The drawings were prepared mainly by Indian draftsmen under the supervision of James Burgess (1832-1916). Burgess was in India from 1855 to 1889, he served as the Archaeological Surveyor and Reporter for Western India 1874-80, with South India added 1881-85 before becoming the Director General of the Archaeological Survey of India in 1886 until he retired in 1889.
Situated on the banks of the Sabarmati River, Ahmadabad was founded by Ahmad Shah, Sultan of Gujarat, in 1411 on the site of the village of Asaval. The dynasty ruled until 1537 when Sultan Bahadur Shah was killed by the Portuguese at Diu. Gujarat was annexed by the Mughal emperor Akbar in 1572. The city is architecturally interesting as it boasts many examples of fifteenth- and sixteenth-century Gujarati provincial Islamic architecture. The Mosque of Muhafiz Khan was built in 1465 by Jamail-ud-Din Muhafiz Khan, governor of Ahmedabad under Mahmud Begarha (r. 1458-1511). The elaborately carved minars or towers at either end of the facade contained staircases. The window shown here has a balcony supported on serpentine brackets with and sloping eaves above suported on two pillars. It carved with motifs inspired by designs on local Hindu and subsequent Muslim monuments.