Scene in Dalhousie Park, Rangoon 4301533
Photographer: Watts and Skeen
Medium: Photographic print
Photograph from the Curzon Collection, of a scene in Dalhousie Park, Rangoon, taken by Watts and Skeen during the 1890s. Dalhousie Park (now Bogyoke Aung San Park) was created by the British to plans drawn up in 1856 by William Scott of the Calcutta Botanic Gardens. It was named after Lord Dalhousie who was Governor General of India from 1848 to 1856. He supervised the Second Anglo-Burmese War in 1852 which resulted in the British annexation of the province of Pegu along with Rangoon. The park was laid out around the Kandawgyi lake, one of two lakes in northern Rangoon east of the Shwe Dagon Pagoda, which was known as the Royal Lake. The park was a popular subject for photographers in Rangoon for the picturesque vistas of landscape and water it gave. Shown is a view looking down a palm avenue bordering the lake, with an ornamental footbridge extending out over the water.