Arch In Cemetery Field, Holycross Abbey
Photographer: Hemphill, William Despard
Medium: Photographic print
"This singular and beautiful semicircular-headed arch is almost unique in its ornamentation and shape, and is probably the most ancient remain in the building."
"Holycross...is situated on the western bank of the River Suir, about two miles from Thurles, and nineteen from Clonmel, in the County of Tipperary. This Abbey was formerly a Cistercian Monastery, founded in the year 1182 by Donald More O'Brien, King of Limerick, sur-named Donald the Great, who died in the year 1194...The monastery was originally built in honour of a supposed piece of the true cross (hence its name), presented by Pope Pascal II to Murtogh, monarch of Ireland."
Text by William Hemphill.