Five Small Subjects
Photographer: Dixon, Henry (1820 - 1892)
Medium: Photographic print
"The Chained Bear, with a monogram and the date 1670, is built into the front of a modern house, No. 6, Lower Thames Street...London Stone, reduced to a small fragment, was rescued from final destruction in 1798, by Mr. Thomas Maiden, a printer of Sherborne Lane...An inscription above the stone states that it is 'commonly believed to be a Roman work,' ...The Hour-glass in St. Alban's, Wood Street, is a rare, almost unique, example of the Hour-glasses introduced in puritan days to regulate the length of the sermon...The stand, which is of a later date, was presented to the church in 1685. (Allen's History, iii. 470.)...The Boy at Pie Corner was put up in memory of the staying here of the Great Fire, which began at Pudding Lane...The figure is built into the front of a public house in Giltspur Street, Smithfield, at the corner of Cock Lane...The Figures striking the hours and quarters at St. Dunstan's-in-the-West, set up in 1671, were long one of the most popular minor sights of London."
Letterpress by Alfred Marks from 'Photographs of Old London'.