Click here to skip to content

Diagram Of The Heptarchy

Diagram Of The Heptarchy

Medium: Ink and pigments on vellum

Date: 1350

Shelfmark: Royal MS 13 A.xxi

Item number: f.40v

Length: 25.5

Width: 18.2

Scale: Centimetres

Genre: Illuminated manuscript

Related images

1 2
This diagram represents the Heptarchy (the seven kingdoms which made up Anglo-Saxon Britain): Wessex, Sussex, Kent, Essex, East Anglia, Mercia, and Northumbria. Their names are written around the outer circle (with 'Esexe' at the top), and each has an adjacent circle in which is written a short description of the territory it encompasses. In the centre is a circle giving the overall dimensions of England; the width is given from St. David's, on the westernmost tip of Wales, to Dover, on the south-east coast.

Search within this collection

Elsewhere on our websites


Latest events - register free online

Mobile app

For iPhone, iPad and Android

Report a Concern

What is the nature of your concern?

Report a Concern

What is the nature of your concern?

Email link to a friend

Write a brief note to accompany the email

Your friend's email address: