A view looking up the River Thames to Richmond Bridge
Engraver: Jukes, Francis
Medium: Aquatint, coloured
Built with Portland stone in 1774-7, to a design of James Paine and Kenton Couse, Richmond Bridge's elegant five-arch span and fine detailing quickly made it a landmark of Richmond. Widened in 1937, it is the oldest surviving Thames crossing.
Daniel Defoe, writing in the early 18th century, commented: "From Richmond to London, the river sides are full of villages, and those villages so full of beautiful buildings, charming gardens, and rich habitations of gentlemen."