College Green, Dublin
Artist: Roberts, Thomas Sautelle
Medium: Aquatint with etching, coloured
View of College Green in Dublin. The green is named after Trinity College which stands on the east side of the green. Before the college was built, the green was called Hoggen Green from the "Hogges" or hog-backed hills in the surrounding area. The name was changed by a Royal Charter in 1591. This picture was dedicated by the artist Thomas Sautelle Roberts, to the Governors and Directors of the National Bank. The Bank is located in the old Parliament building and can be seen to the right, with Daly’s Club House in the centre. The Statue of King William on horseback by sculptor Grinling Gibbons, was erected in front of Chichester House on College Green in 1701, however it no longer stands as it was destroyed by Irish republicans in the 1929.