South View of Holm Lacey, near Hereford
Artist: Fisher, S.
View by S. Fisher of Hom Lacy in Herefordshire. At the time that the Domesday Book was compiled the lands here belonged to Hereford Cathedral however they passed to Walter de Lacy, a follower of William the Conqueror. John Scudamore built a large grand brick house here in 1545- this house had picturesque gables and stone mullions. By the 17th century the house had passed to another John Scudamore, the Second Viscount who rebuilt much of the house in the style of a French Chateaux. The gardens were also extensively landscaped at this time.