View of Richmond Bridge, from Isleworth
Engraver: Jukes, Francis
Richmond Bridge was built in 1774-7 to an elegant design by James Paine and Kenton Couse. It is made of Portland stone and is spanned by five arches. It was widened in 1937 and remains the oldest surviving Thames bridge. Its distinctive arched shape and fine detailing quickly made it a landmark of Richmond. Daniel Defoe, writing in the early 18th century, commented: "From Richmond to London, the river sides are full of villages, and those villages so full of beautiful buildings, charming gardens, and rich habitations of gentlemen."