Wenlock Priory f31
Artist: Blore, Edward
Medium: Pencil and ink on paper
This delicate line drawing depicts the exterior of Wenlock Priory in Shropshire.
The site has a rich history. Originally founded as a nunnery by St Milburga in 680, the priory later became a monastery following the Danish invasion at the end of the 9th century. The monastery survived until the Norman Conquest and was consequently re-founded by the Earl of Shropshire, Roger de Montgomery, in 1080. The priory then remained intact until the mid 16th century when it was destroyed by Henry VIII's forces. The existing buildings, such as the ruined church and cloisters, date mainly from the 11th century and are Norman in style. The 15th century prior's lodgings also remain.