Click here to skip to content



Cartographer: Norden, John

Medium: Ink and tempera on parchment

Date: 1609

Shelfmark: Cotton Augustus I.ii f.44

Length: 64.3

Width: 81.9

Scale: Centimetres

Genre: Manuscript Map

This is a map of the six ‘escheated’ counties of Ulster. It dates from 1609 and may be by John Norden, though likely to be based on the barony maps of Josias Bodley and William Parsons. It seems to be intended as a guide to planned plantings. In 1607 the earls of Ulster fled and the counties of Armagh, Cavan, Coleraine, Donegal, Fermanagh and Tyrone were confiscated by the English and the Scots. In 1608-9 the Commons had drafted plans for English and Scottish planting and lands that were to be retained by the Irish.

Search within this collection

Elsewhere on our websites


Latest events - register free online

Mobile app

For iPhone, iPad and Android

Report a Concern

What is the nature of your concern?

Report a Concern

What is the nature of your concern?

Email link to a friend

Write a brief note to accompany the email

Your friend's email address: