George Eliot

George Eliot (Mary Ann Evans), author of Middlemarch, Adam Bede and The Mill on the Floss. Portrait by Sir Frederic William Burton © National Portrait Gallery, London.
George Eliot by Sir Frederic William Burton © National Portrait Gallery, London


George Eliot was the pen name of the novelist Mary Ann Evans. She grew up in Warwickshire at a time when industrialisation was transforming the countryside. Her mother died when she was 17, and in 1841 she and her father moved to Coventry which she would use as inspiration for the fictional town of Middlemarch. There she joined a circle of free-thinking intellectuals, and lost her Christian faith. After her father died in 1849, she travelled abroad before settling in London working as an editor at the left-wing Westminster Review. This led to her meeting the philosopher and critic George Henry Lewes, married but separated from his wife. Eliot lived with Lewes openly and started referring to herself as Marian Lewes, in defiance of Victorian notions of propriety.

Lewes encouraged her to write fiction, for which she adopted a male psuedonym, partly in order to avoid her work being judged in relation to her scandalous domestic situation. Her first Warwickshire-set tales, profoundly influenced by the interest in ordinary people typical of both Wordsworth’s poetry and contemporary genre painting, appeared in Blackwood’s Magazine from 1857; they were published as Scenes From Clerical Life in 1858. Adam Bede followed in 1859, and The Mill on the Floss in 1860. She published three more novels in the following decade, including Silas Marner (1861), as well as some poetry. Her most famous book, Middlemarch, was published in eight instalments from 1871 to 1872.

A year and a half after Lewes’s death in November 1878, Eliot married the much younger John Cross, but she died from kidney disease within a year.

Further information about the life of George Eliot can be found here via the Oxford Dictionary of National Biography.

Related articles

George Eliot's women

Article by:
Kathryn Hughes
The novel 1832 - 1880

Why do so few of George Eliot’s female characters fulfil their potential? Professor Kathryn Hughes considers Eliot’s attitudes towards women’s rights, education and place in society, and how she expresses these in her novels.

The Mill on the Floss as bildungsroman

Article by:
Rohan Maitzen
The novel 1832 - 1880

Dr Rohan Maitzen explores how George Eliot uses education, literature and her own experience in The Mill on the Floss to subvert the traditional bildungsroman, or novel of development.

Middlemarch: reform and change

Article by:
John Mullan
Power and politics, The novel 1832 - 1880

Middlemarch is set in the period leading up to the 1832 Reform Act. Professor John Mullan explores how George Eliot uses the novel to examine different kinds of reform and progress: political, scientific and social.

Related collection items

Related people

Related works


Created by: George Eliot

Originally published in eight parts in 1871-72, Middlemarch: A Study of Provincial Life is set four decades earlier ...

*Mill on the Floss*

Created by: George Eliot

A sibling relationship is at the heart of George Eliot’s (1819-1880) semi-autobiographical novel, published in ...

*Adam Bede*

Created by: George Eliot

Adam Bede is George Eliot’s first full-length novel, and embodies the realist aims she would continue to ...

*Silas Marner*

Created by: George Eliot

George Eliot’s (1819-1880) short novel of 1861, in which the protagonist is obliged to leave his small ...