Click here to skip to content

The Story of Crime Fiction

Fri 8 Feb 2013, 18.30-20.00

Conference Centre, British Library

£7.50 / £5 concessions

Sold out for 08 Feb 2013, 18.30-20.00

Mark Lawson, who recently wrote and presented BBC Radio 4 series Foreign Bodies: A History of Modern Europe Through Literary Detectives, is joined by crime fiction writers, P D James, Henry Sutton and Jason Webster to discuss the history of the genre, their favourite classics and their own work. 

  • P D James is one of the great crime fiction writers and the recipient of many prizes and honours. From Cover Her Face, published in 1962 (which introduced police inspector Adam Dalgleish of  Scotland Yard), via An Unsuitable Job for a Woman (1972) and the dystopian sci-fi classic Children of Men (1992) to the recent Death Comes to Pemberley, her bestselling novels have been consistently acclaimed by both readers and critics. They combine intricate plotting and macabre twists and turns with elegant prose and complex morality. Created Baroness James of Holland Park in 1991 she previously spent thirty years in various departments of the British Civil Service, including the Police and Criminal Law Department of  the Home Office, and has served as a magistrate and as a governor of the BBC.
  • Henry Sutton is the author of eight novels, including the shortly to be published My Criminal World, and co-author, under the pseudonym James Henry, of the DS Jack Frost novel, First Frost. His work has been translated into many languages and his fifth novel, Kids’ Stuff, became a long-running stage play in Riga, Latvia. In 2004, he won the J.B.Priestley Award. He has judged numerous literary prizes, and was for many years the Books Editor of the Daily Mirror. He is now Senior Lecturer in Creative Writing at the University of East Anglia, where he also teaches the master's module, The Writing of Crime Thriller.
  • Jason Webster was born in California and was brought up in England and Germany.  After living in Italy and Egypt, he moved to Spain in 1993 where he now lives, close to Valencia. His first crime novel, Or The Bull Kills You, was long listed for the CWA Specsavers Crime Thriller Awards, New Blood Dagger and was followed by the equally acclaimed Death In Valencia. The third in the series, The Anarchist Detective, will be published in 2013. He is also the author of a number of highly acclaimed travel books including Duende: A Journey In Search Of Flamenco and Sacred Sierra: A Year On A Spanish Mountain.
  • Mark Lawson is one of Britain’s most accomplished cultural journalists, broadcasters and authors. He has presented The Late Review since 1994 and also BBC Radio 4's arts magazine Front Row. He has twice been voted TV critic of the Year and has won numerous awards for arts journalism. He has been a freelance contributor to numerous publications since 1984 and a Guardian columnist since 1995