Publishing

The British Library holds more than 150 million items in its collection. British Library Publishing actively publish from the Library’s collection to bring forgotten stories and original non-fiction to new audiences.

We publish thought-provoking books to showcase unexpected treasures from our collections, including maps, manuscripts, great works of literature and rare books. 

We are also home to the much-loved bestselling British Library Crime Classics series. All revenue from our publications supports the Library’s work for future generations.

See our latest catalogues

Take a look at our recent highlights

Guidelines for authors

We publish up to 40 non-fiction books a year in subjects broadly relating to the collections of the British Library, including the history of the book, medieval manuscripts, literary history, bibliography, cartography and history.

We do not publish new fiction for adults or children, drama, poetry, autobiographies or memoirs.

We welcome submissions from potential new authors in subject areas relevant to our publishing programme. Please send submissions to publishing_editorial@bl.uk. Your submission should consist of a two-page synopsis with a covering letter describing:

  • the nature of your project
  • your relevant experience/qualifications
  • the target readership.

Trade sales

Our trade distributor

Titles in this catalogue can be ordered direct from our distributor:

Marston Book Services
Milton Park, Abingdon
OXON, OX14 4SB
T +44 (0) 1235 465500
Trade.orders@marston.co.uk
Trade.enquiry@marston.co.uk

UK local representatives

London and South East

Pinnacle Booksales UK
Stanmore Business & Innovation
Stanmore Place, Howard Road
Stanmore HA7 1GB
david@pinnaclebooksales.co.uk
steve@pinnaclebooksales.co.uk

South West England

Debbie Jones
T +44 (0)1822 617 223
M +44 (0)7850 621204
deborah7.jones@gmail.com

Midlands, Norfolk, Oxford, Cambridge and Wales

Ian Tripp
T +44 (0)7970 450162
iantripp@ymail.com

North England and Scotland

Anna Murphy
M +44 (0)7825 701450
info@annamurphy.co.uk

International sales

Ireland

Robert Towers
T +353 (1) 2806 532
F +353 (1) 2806 020
rtowers@indigo.ie

Germany, Austria, Belgium, Netherlands, Luxembourg France and Switzerland

Ted Dougherty
T +44 (0)20 7482 2439
ted.dougherty@blueyonder.co.uk

Spain and Portugal

Jenny Padovani

South East and North Asia

Publishers International Marketing
T +44 1202 896210
chris@pim-uk.com

Greece and Cyprus

Isabella Curtis
T +30 210 7218995
isabella@padovanibooks.com

USA and Canada

Trafalgar Square Publishing
T +1 800 888 4741
orders@ipgbook.com

Africa (excluding South Africa, Namibia, Lesotho, Swaziland and Botswana)

Matthew Walsh
Gunnar Lie & Associates Ltd
3 Linkside, New Malden
Surrey KT3 4LA UK
Tel: +44 (0)20 8605 1097
matthew@gunnarlie.com

Middle East (including Turkey and Israel) and The Caribbean

John Edgeler
Gunnar Lie & Associates Ltd
3 Linkside, New Malden
Surrey KT3 4LA UK
T +44 780 1866 936
john@gunnarlie.com

South America (including Mexico)

Guillaume Ferrand
Gunnar Lie & Associates Ltd
3 Linkside, New Malden
Surrey KT3 4LA UK
T +44 (0)20 8605 1097
guillaume@gunnarlie.com

Eastern Europe, Russia and the Baltics

Cristian Juncu
Str. Floarea Soarelui nr 45,
Sunflower vila 8, Voluntari,
Ilfov, Romania
cristian@j4.ro

Scandinavia

Angell Eurosales
T +44 1764 683781
info@angelleurosales.com

Italy

Penny Padovani
T +39 0575 614338
penny@padovanibooks.com

New Zealand

Bateman Books
David Bateman Ltd
Unit 2/5 Workspace Drive
Hobsonville, Auckland 0618
bryceg@bateman.co.nz

South Africa, Namibia, Lesotho, Swaziland and Botswana

Peter Hyde Associates
5-7 Speke Street, Observatory
Cape Town, Western Cape
South Africa
johanjhugo@gmail.com

For all other sales territories, point of sale and marketing materials

Maria Vassilopoulos
T +44 (0)20 7412 7704
T +44 (0)7710759720
maria.vassilopoulos@bl.uk

For publicity

Abbie Day
T +44 (0)20 7412 7266
abigail.day@bl.uk

For editorial and rights enquiries