Delius: Piano Concerto


Frederick Delius’s Piano Concerto in C minor is a work with a long and complex history of revisions and disputes. It was originally conceived as a one-movement Fantasy for Orchestra and Pianoforte (1897), but never performed in this version. The first performance was of a revised version in three movements, and took place in Elberfeld, Germany, conducted by Hans Haym and with Julius Buths playing the solo part. 

Before publication and another performance by the dedicatee, Théodor Szántó, in 1907, further substantial revisions were made, creating a 'compromise', as Thomas Beecham saw it. The 1907 version returned to the single movement form, but kept the more classical key scheme of the three-movement version. It also incorporated a new final section, and extensive editing of the solo part by Szántó.

The present item is an early edition of the final version of the concerto, published by Harmonie Verlag, Berlin, in 1907. The work passed to Universal Edition in 1921, but the new publisher did not re-engrave it, rather placing the original Harmonie edition in new covers, as in this item. This edition was also subject to numerous corrections and revisions which are pasted and written in to this copy. A final layer of amendments is shown in Beecham’s numerous performance indications, marked in blue pencil.

Full title:
Copy of an early printed edition of Frederick Delius’s Piano Concerto, with annotations by Thomas Beecham
1921, Berlin
Harmonie Verlag
Printed music
Frederick Delius, Thomas Beecham
© Delius Trust
Usage terms
Public Domain
Held by
Delius Trust

Related articles

Delius in performance

Article by:
Joanna Bullivant
Musical style, Performance and reception

Joanna Bullivant explores how Delius’s compositions were brought to life by various interpreters. Did he give his performers enough information and how important are the contributions made by the famous musicians with whom he worked?

Related people