A unique compilation of Latin moral, grammatical and historical treatises was collected by Geoffrey of Ufford in the 12th-century. Almost nothing is known of Geoffrey’s life, and this manuscript appears to be the sole surviving copy of his work. There are two places called Ufford, both in East Anglia: one near Peterborough; and the other near Woodbridge in Suffolk. One of the compilation texts is a chronicle that ends with the coronation of King Henry II in 1154 and emphasises events relating to Thorney, Peterborough and Ramsey. Taken together, this evidence suggests that the work was composed in the area of Peterborough in or soon after 1154.
Other texts of the collection include a list of the kings of Kent and a table of the Hebrew, Greek, Latin and runic alphabets. A trilingual glossary also features with lists of animals, plants and stones in Old English, Latin and Old French. For example, an entry for swine (Old English swin) also contains the Latin porcus and Old French porc.
This manuscript was digitised with the support of The Polonsky Foundation.
- Article by:
- Damian Fleming
- History and learning, Christian religion and belief
In this survey Damian Fleming explores the early medieval Christian experience of Hebrew as a sacred and practical language.