J. F. Cooper The Pilot, (1849)
C.188.a.48   17.5x11 cm

The Pilot

Routledge's Railway Library

Routledge's Railway Library began in 1849 as a shameless imitation of Simms and McIntyre's Parlour Library. The Pilot was one of seven novels by the distinguished American author, James Fenimore Cooper, included in the series during its first year. Although Routledge later had to pay compensation to the publisher Richard Bentley for infringing his British copyrights in Cooper's works, these unauthorised reprints allowed the series to get off to a good start with the minimum of capital outlay. By the time the Railway Library came to an end in 1898 it numbered 1277 volumes.