The Rathbones Folio Prize 2021

Roger Robinson, Jon McGregor and Sinéad Gleeson

For more information

  • This event has taken place
  • Tel: +44 (0)1937 546546
  • Email:

Meet the shortlist and find out who has won one of our major literary awards.

This is an online event. Bookers will be sent a link in advance giving access and will be able to watch at any time for 48 hours after the start time.

Join us for the live announcement of the winner of the 2021 Rathbones Folio Prize, hosted from the British Library by Razia Iqbal, and featuring the shortlisted authors alongside the judges Roger RobinsonJon McGregor and Sinéad Gleeson.  

The Rathbones Folio Prize, also known as The Writers' Prize, is the only literary prize to award the best book of the year regardless of form, and to be wholly nominated and judged by other authors.

The shortlisted titles are:

handiwork – Sara Baume (Tramp Press)

Indelicacy – Amina Cain (Daunt Books)

As You Were – Elaine Feeney (Harvill Secker)

Poor – Caleb Femi (Penguin)

My Darling from the Lions – Rachel Long (Picador)

In the Dream House: A Memoir – Carmen Maria Machado (Serpent’s Tail)

A Ghost in the Throat – Doireann Ní Ghríofa (Tramp Press)

The Mermaid of Black Conch – Monique Roffey (Peepal Tree Press)


The British Library is a charity. Your support helps us open up a world of knowledge and inspiration for everyone. Donate today.


Name: The Rathbones Folio Prize 2021
Where: British Library St Pancras
When: -
Enquiries: +44 (0)1937 546546