Geoffroy de Monmouth

Une illustration du roi Arthur, dans un manuscrit de l'Histoire des rois de Bretagne de Geoffroy de Monmouth.
Portrait du roi Arthur au commencement de l'Historia regum Britanniae de Geoffroy de Monmouth (BnF, Latin 8501A, fol. 108v)

Geoffroy de Monmouth est un prélat anglo-normand et un historien qui fut actif au milieu du XIIe siècle. On sait peu de chose sur sa vie et sa carrière, mais il semble qu’il ait reçu son éducation sur le continent, peut-être à l’École de Paris, et qu’il ait régulièrement vécu et travaillé à Oxford. Il est élu évêque de St Asaph dans le nord du Pays de Galles quatre ans avant sa mort vers 1155. 

Écrits historiques

Geoffroy est principalement connu pour être l’auteur de plusieurs ouvrages influents en latin,  notamment les Prophetie Merlini (« Prophéties de Merlin ») et l’Historia regum Britanniae (Histoire des rois de Bretagne), censée avoir été écrite dans les années 1130 et 1140. Ces textes furent très populaires dans toute l’Europe occidentale médiévale. Plus de deux cents manuscrits subsistent de la seule Historia, un grand nombre remontant au XIIe siècle. 

L’Historia est un récit de l’histoire primitive de la Grande-Bretagne et de ses peuples. Geoffroy affirmait l’avoir traduit d’un vieux livre « breton » qu’il aurait reçu de Gautier, archidiacre d’Oxford. Le texte commence par l’arrivée de Brutus – descendant du héros troyen Énée – dans l’île d’Albion, qu’il aurait baptisée « Bretagne » d’après son propre nom. Il relate ensuite les passages successifs d’une série de dynasties royales avant de conclure sur la migration des Saxons (vers 400) et les actions des derniers rois bretons, notamment d’Uther Pendragon et d’Arthur. L’ouvrage de Geoffroy livre l’un des premiers récits fondateurs de la vie et du règne de ce personnage légendaire. Le livre demeura une source majeure d’inspiration pour les auteurs de la littérature arthurienne, des siècles après sa mort.

Biography

Related articles

L’histoire en France et en Angleterre : Raoul de Dicet et ses sources

Article by:
Laura Cleaver
Theme:
Histoire et enseignement

Partant des manuscrits de Raoul de Dicet, Laura Cleaver s’intéresse à la manière dont les auteurs d’écrits historiques au Moyen Âge nourrissent leur lecture du passé de leur vision du présent.

Premières versions latines de la légende du roi Arthur

Article by:
Chantry Westwell
Theme:
Histoire et enseignement

En remontant aux origines de la légende du roi Arthur situées au IXe siècle, Chantry Westwell étudie la diffusion et le succès de la légende arthurienne dans la France et l’Angleterre médiévales.

Les historiens du haut Moyen Âge

Article by:
Jaakko Tahkokallio
Theme:
Histoire et enseignement

À travers l’histoire humaine, l’une des premières fonctions du récit a consisté à créer et renforcer les identités partagées soudant les communautés. Jaakko Tahkokallio explore les ouvrages historiques des plus grands écrivains médiévaux.

Related collection items

Related works

King Lear

Created by: William Shakespeare

King Lear is a tragedy based on the chronicle history of a pre-Roman, Celtic king of Britain. In Shakespeare’s ...

Geoffrey of Monmouth

BnF, Latin 8501A, f. 108v
Portrait of King Arthur at the beginning of Geoffrey of Monmouth’s History of the Kings of Britain (BnF, Latin 8501A, f. 108v)

Biography

Geoffrey of Monmouth was an Anglo-Norman cleric and historian, active during the mid-12th century. Little is known about his life and career, though it is likely that he was educated on the Continent, perhaps at the school in Paris, and that he periodically lived and worked in Oxford. He was elected as bishop of the city of St Asaph in North Wales, four years before his death in around 1155. 

Historical writings

Geoffrey is principally known as the author of several influential Latin works, including the Prophetie Merlini (Prophecies of Merlin) and the Historia regum Brittaniae (History of the Kings of Britain), which he is thought to have written in the 1130s and 1140s. These texts were hugely popular all across western Europe during the medieval period and over 200 manuscripts of the Historia alone survive, many from the 12th century. 

The Historia is an account of the early history of Britain and its peoples, which Geoffrey claimed to have translated from an old ‘British’ book he had received from Walter, archdeacon of Oxford. The text begins with the arrival of Brutus, a descendant of the Trojan hero Aeneas, to the island of Albion, which he supposedly renamed after himself (‘Britain’). It then recounts the passage of a series of royal dynasties, before ending with the migration of the Saxons (c. 400) and the deeds of the last of the British kings, most notably Uther Pendragon and Arthur. Geoffrey’s work provides one of the first substantial treatments of the legendary figure’s life and reign and it continued to be a major source for writers of Arthurian literature, centuries after his death.

Related articles

Early Latin versions of the Legend of King Arthur

Article by:
Chantry Westwell
Theme:
History and learning

Chantry Westwell traces the ninth-century origins of the Legend of King Arthur and explores the growth of the bestselling tale in medieval England and France.

History in England and France: Ralph of Diceto and his sources

Article by:
Laura Cleaver
Theme:
History and learning

Using the works of Ralph de Diceto, Laura Cleaver examines how the study of history in the Middle Ages engaged with contemporary attitudes and politics.

Historians of the early Middle Ages

Article by:
Jaakko Tahkokallio
Theme:
History and learning

Throughout human history, one of the main functions of story-telling has been to create and strengthen shared identities that hold communities together. Jaakko Tahkokallio explores the historical works of leading medieval writers.

Related collection items