Collaborative Doctoral Students at the British Library

Female collaborative PhD student working at a desk in the British Library office.

An overview of all current projects.

Research student

Project

University partner

Contact

Irene Beck

Anglo-Scottish Relations in the Early Sixteenth Century

University of Kent

irb4@kent.ac.uk

Dominic Bridge

Music publishing in the British Isles, 1750-1850

University of Liverpool

dominic.bridge@liverpool.ac.uk

Jeremy Brown

Maps and the Italian Grand Tour, 1660-ca.1824

Royal Holloway


Carol Butler

Digital Publishing Technologies and the Reader

City University London


Ruth Byrne

Attitudes to immigrants in the 19th century: Using very large historical corpora for socio-historical research

University of Lancaster

r.byrne1@lancaster.ac.uk

Pardaad Chamsaz

The Secret of Creation: Stefan Zweig’s writing read through his manuscript collection

University of Bristol

Pardaad.Chamsaz@bl.uk

Jodie Collins

American Political Pamphlets 1920-1945

University of Sussex

jodie.collins@bl.uk

Hannah Connell

Studying migration and diaspora through Russian language publishing

KCL

hannah.connell@bl.uk

Deborah Dawkin

Literary Translation - Genre, Process and Collaboration

UCL


Emilia Henderson

Franco-Saxon manuscripts in the ninth century

University of Leicester

eth4@leicester.ac.uk


Rosie Higman

Open Access and the role of the National Library

University of Sheffield

poa06rh@sheffield.ac.uk

Alastair Horne

How mobile phones are changing storytelling

Bath Spa University

pressfuturist@gmail.com

Rebecca Lawton

Anglo-Saxon perceptions of the city of Rome: correspondence and exchange in the 7th and 8th centuries

University of Leicester

Emmeline Ledgerwood

Re-evaluating the 1980s and 1990s Through Life Histories: Politics, Privatisation and the Culture of Government Research

University of Leicester

emme.ledgerwood@bl.uk

Ewa Majczak

Senses of self: visual self-fashioning among Bamileke women in Yaounde, Cameroon

University of Oxford

Liam Markey

Mediating militarism: chronicling 100 years of British ‘military victimhood’ from print to digital, 1918-2018

University of Liverpool

liam.markey@Liverpool.ac.uk

Pauline McGonagle

Disinheritance' and constructions of identity in the works of Ruth Prawer Jhabvala

University of Exeter

pm382@exeter.ac.uk

Sasha Valeri Millwood

The Music of Thea Musgrave: An Analysis Based on the Manuscript Sources

University of Glasgow

Sasha.Millwood@bl.uk

Jenny Norton-Wright

Shifting Landscapes: Mapping the Intellectual Writing Traditions of Islamic Southeast Asia

SOAS University of London

268097@soas.ac.uk

Naomi Oppenheim

Future Pasts: British-Caribbean Popular Culture and the Politics of History, 1948-1998

UCL

Naomi.Oppenheim@bl.uk

Helen Piel

The Facts of Evolution: Widely Communicated, Mathematically Found(ed), Controversially Discussed. The Working Life of John Maynard Smith (1920-2004)

University of Leeds

hyhp@leeds.ac.uk

Christian Poske

Continuity In Change: A Restudy of Arnold Adriaan Bake’s Research on the Devotional and Folk Music and Dance of Bengal 1925-1956

SOAS

christian.poske@bl.uk

James Ritzema

The Printing and Publication of Sacred Music in England, 1603-1649

Royal Holloway University of London

Anna Turnham

Elizabeth I and Mary, Queen of Scots

University of Kent

aft21@kent.ac.uk 

Alice Wickenden

Hans Sloane’s Books:  An early Enlightenment library and its material relationships

Queen Mary University of London

Alice.Wickenden@bl.uk


AHRC Collaborative Doctoral Partnerships

Up to four AHRC PhD studentships are available each year to support collaborative research projects drawing on our collections, resources and expertise.