Tudor Monarchs


Lives in LettersProvides an intensely personal view into the private lives of the ruling dynasty. Contains rare and unpublished Tudor documents.

Product details

The Tudor period (1485–1603) was one of the most tumultuous and transformative eras in English history. It was a period of drama and intrigue, as well as great triumphs and progress, such as Henry VIII’s Reformation and the defeat of the Spanish Armada. It saw the emergence of an English national identity and the beginnings of a British Empire. Four hundred years after the Tudor era ended with the death of Elizabeth I, this extraordinary period still fascinates and captures the public imagination like no other. The Tudor kings and queens – pious and conservative Henry VII, the tyrannical Henry VIII and his six wives, ‘Bloody Mary’, Edward the boy-King, and the virgin queen Elizabeth – remain the most well-known and fascinating English dynasty. The Tudor period is also the first in English history to be so thoroughly documented in manuscripts, letters and documents, of which the British Library holds an incredibly rich and important collection. This book contains the most significant examples, paired with concise commentaries, to illustrate the lives and personalities of the five Tudor monarchs, as well as the most important events of their reigns.

Andrea Clarke
The British Library
Publication date
May 2017
208 pages
210 x 149 mm

Sign up for our e-newsletter

Keep up to date with news and events at the British Library

Sign up to our newsletter Subscribe