British Library Treasures in full: Shakespeare in quarto
Main The Basics Background The Afterlife The Texts Expert views References Links Glossary Partners
Print Plays not in quarto

Nineteen of Shakespeare’s plays were published in quarto by 1622. Another 18 plays appeared for the first time in the First Folio of 1623. One of these appeared subsequently in a quarto edition, The Taming of the Shrew, published in 1631. Only those plays published in quarto before 1642 appear on this website.

You will not find the following 17 plays here, but they can be seen in the First Folio.

  • All’s Well that End’s Well
  • Anthony and Cleopatra
  • As You Like It
  • The Comedy of Errors
  • Coriolanus
  • Cymbeline
  • Henry VI, Part 1
  • Henry VIII (All is True)
  • Julius Caesar
  • King John
  • Macbeth
  • Measure for Measure
  • The Tempest
  • Timon of Athens
  • Twelfth Night
  • The Two Gentlemen of Verona
  • The Winter’s Tale


 The basics Background The afterlife The texts 
Expert views References Links Glossary Partners