Originally published in eight parts in 1871-72, Middlemarch: A Study of Provincial Life is set four decades earlier in the period leading up to the Reform Bill. The novel began as two separate stories, which George Eliot decided to combine: that of the young and idealistic Dorothea Brooke, who marries a much older, arid scholar; and that of the surgeon Tertius Lydgate, who has recently moved to the town of Middlemarch, hoping to serve the community and introduce medical innovations. Both Dorothea and Lydgate become disillusioned, their plans for improvement frustrated by their choices in marriage and by the ‘hampering threadlike pressure of small social conditions’. Around these two characters Eliot assembles a large cast and a number of subplots, using the metaphor of a spider’s web to convey the links between the many characters and the novel’s themes of progress, ambition and community.

Manuscript of Middlemarch by George Eliot

Manuscript of George Eliot's Middlemarch [folio: 5r]

View images from this item  (16)

Usage terms Creative Commons Attribution licence
Held by © Jonathan Garnault Ouvry

George Eliot
Full title:
Middlemarch: A Study of Provincial Life
Victorian literature
Literary period:

Related articles

Middlemarch: reform and change

Article by:
John Mullan
Power and politics, The novel 1832–1880

Middlemarch is set in the period leading up to the 1832 Reform Act. Professor John Mullan explores how George Eliot uses the novel to examine different kinds of reform and progress: political, scientific and social.

Deathbed scenes in fiction

Article by:
John Mullan
The novel 1832–1880

The deathbed is an iconic scene in Victorian fiction. Professor John Mullan considers its potential for sentimentality and satire.

Victorian readers

Article by:
Kate Flint
Reading and print culture, The novel 1832–1880

Professor Kate Flint explores the way Victorians bought, borrowed and read their books, and considers the impact of the popular literature of the period.

Related collection items

Related people

Related works

A Christmas Carol

Created by: Charles Dickens

A Christmas book by Charles Dickens (1812–1870), published in 1843. Dickens was prompted to write this ...

A Woman of No Importance

Created by: Oscar Wilde

Oscar Wilde’s play A Woman of No Importance is a satire on English upper class morality and society’s ...

An Ideal Husband

Created by: Oscar Wilde

An Ideal Husband (1895) is the third of Oscar Wilde’s society comedies after Lady Windermere’s Fan ...

Lady Windermere’s Fan

Created by: Oscar Wilde

Lady Windermere’s Fan was first performed at St James’s Theatre on 20 February 1892 to rave reviews, and ...