Benjamin Britten's manuscript score for A Midsummer Night's Dream


This manuscript, written in Benjamin Britten’s hand, is the score for the opera based on Shakespeare’s comedic play, A Midsummer Night’s Dream. The character list can be seen on the left-hand page, with Puck designated a speaking role and Oberon a countertenor. The right-hand page show the opening of Act I and is titled ‘The Wood – dark night’. The instructions ‘Enter fairies, first group’ can be seen toward the lower half of the page, with the first line of ‘Over hill, over dale’ visible underneath.

This score has been digitised in full and is available on the British Library website – Act I, Act II and Act III.

Full title:
Excerpt from Benjamin Britten's manuscript score for A Midsummer Night's Dream
Music / Manuscript
Benjamin Britten
Usage terms

© 1960 by Hawkes & Sons (London) Ltd. Reproduced by permission of Boosey & Hawkes Music Publishers Ltd

Held by
British Library
Add MS 60605-60608

Full catalogue details

Related articles

Setting Shakespeare's music – and the music of Shakespeare settings

Article by:
Oliver Soden
Comedies, Global Shakespeare, Magic, illusion and the supernatural

Oliver Soden explores the challenges of creating operas based on Shakespeare’s plays.

Related collection items

Related people

Related works

A Midsummer Night’s Dream

Created by: William Shakespeare

A Midsummer Night’s Dream opens with Theseus, Duke of Athens, eagerly anticipating his marriage to Hippolyta, ...