Cover to Middlemarch [Book I]


This is the cover of Book I of Middlemarch, entitled ‘Miss Brooke’. George Eliot’s novel was published in eight instalments (‘books’) between December 1871 and December 1872. It was then published in four volumes, each volume containing two books. 

Most novels of the time were published in three volumes, either at first publication or following serialisation. While Eliot was writing Middlemarch it became apparent that the novel would be too long for the standard three-volume form. Eliot’s partner, George Henry Lewes, suggested the eight-part, four-volume plan as one that would be both artistically and commercially beneficial.

Full title:
Middlemarch [Book I]
1871, 72, Edinburgh, London
Serial / Illustration / Image
George Eliot
Usage terms
Public Domain
Held by
British Library

Related articles

Realism and research in Adam Bede

Article by:
Rohan Maitzen
The novel 1832–1880

In Adam Bede, George Eliot sets out her commitment to realism as a literary genre – a commitment she would continue to develop over the course of her career. Dr Rohan Maitzen explains how detailed research and Eliot’s own experience fed into the realist project, enabling her to express her beliefs about religion, sympathy and understanding.


Article by:
John Mullan
The novel 1832–1880

Professor John Mullan explores the key features of realism and the different ways in which Victorian writers used them.

Victorian readers

Article by:
Kate Flint
Reading and print culture, The novel 1832–1880

Professor Kate Flint explores the way Victorians bought, borrowed and read their books, and considers the impact of the popular literature of the period.

Related collection items

Related people

Related works


Created by: George Eliot

Originally published in eight parts in 1871-72, Middlemarch: A Study of Provincial Life is set four decades earlier ...