Ethnographical map of the Balkan Peninsula showing religious and ethnic diversity


About this map

The word Balkan is Turkish and means ‘mountain’. The Balkans, or the Balkan Peninsula, is a region in the south-east of Europe. This map shows the geography of the Balkans and their religious and ethnic diversity. On this map the Balkans comprise the areas of Slovenia, Croatia, Bosnia and Herzegovina, Serbia, Montenegro, Albania, Macedonia, Greece, Bulgaria and Romania. The westernmost part of Turkey is also included. The largest of the colour-coded groups on the map is the South Slavs or Yugoslav group which forms the majority of the population in several countries. The other national groups represented here are Romanians, Greeks and Albanians, as well as many other ethnic minorities who live in the region. 

Where is this map from?

The map is taken from La Péninsule balkanique. Géographie humaine (1918). This book is a study of the physical and human geography of the Balkans by Jovan Cvijić (1865-1927), a Serbian geographer and ethnographer, published in Paris. It includes essays, drawings, maps and four large maps in colour, folded and inserted at the back of the book.

Full title:
Ethnographical map reproduced from The Balkan Peninsula by Jovan Cvijić
Jovan Cvijić
Usage terms
Public Domain
Held by
British Library
Maps X.4391.

Full catalogue details

Related articles

Making and breaking nations

Article by:
Professor David Stevenson
Origins, outbreak and conclusions

World War One resulted in radical changes to national boundaries. Professor David Stevenson explains the changes that took place in Europe's political geography.

Race, racism and military strategy

Article by:
Richard Fogarty
Race, empire and colonial troops

Associate Professor Richard Fogarty looks at how World War One was influenced by different races fighting together in a global war.

Aftermath of World War One

Article by:
Professor David Stevenson
Origins, outbreak and conclusions

Professor David Stevenson explains how the Treaty of Versailles, the Treaties of Saint-Germain and Trianon and the Treaties of Neuilly and Sèvres re-drew Europe's post-war boundaries.

Related collection items