George Cruikshank's Fairy Library


George Cruikshank’s Fairy Library consists of four stories; ‘Cinderella’ and ‘Jack and the Beanstalk’ pictured here, along with ‘Hop o’ my Thumb and the Seven League Boots’ and ‘Puss in Boots’. Cruikshank was already a distinguished caricaturist and illustrator of books for children and adults when he produced this work.

His illustrations for the first English translation of Grimm’s Fairy Tales were praised widely, but his own rewriting of fairytales was criticised, most prominently by Charles Dickens. This was not due to the quality of the illustrations, but because, in line with his temperance beliefs, Cruikshank rewrote aspects of the fairytales to warn the reader against the evils of alcohol. Thus, for instance, the preparations for Cinderella’s marriage include the court throwing all alcohol in the palace on a bonfire; and in ‘Jack and the Beanstalk’, the giant is an alcoholic. Dickens, a friend of Cruikshank, was outraged at what he considered to be a betrayal of the essence of fairytales and, in protest he published an essay in his weekly magazine Household Words entitled ‘Frauds on the Fairies’ in protest (1853).

Full title:
George Cruikshank's Fairy Library
estimated 1853-54, London
Book / Children's book / Illustration / Image
George Cruikshank
Usage terms
Public Domain
Held by
British Library

Full catalogue details

Related articles

An introduction to Silas Marner: fairytale, realism and labour

Article by:
John Mullan
The novel 1832–1880

Professor John Mullan explores how George Eliot draws on fairytale elements in her self-described ‘realistic treatment’ of a pre-industrial weaver and her work.

Fantasy and fairytale in children's literature

Article by:
M O Grenby
Childhood and children's literature

Professor M O Grenby explores the relationship between fantasy and morality in 18th- and 19th-century children’s literature.

Related collection items

Related works

Silas Marner

Created by: George Eliot

George Eliot’s (1819-1880) short novel of 1861, in which the protagonist is obliged to leave his small ...

Alice's Adventures in Wonderland

Created by: Lewis Carroll

This fantasy novel of 1865 was originally entitled Alice’s Adventures Under Ground. It was written by the ...

The Bloody Chamber and Other Stories

Created by: Angela Carter

The Bloody Chamber and Other Stories is a 1979 collection of short fiction by the British writer Angela Carter. Each ...