Peace conference: memoranda respecting Syria, Arabia and Palestine


Following the end of the First World War, a Conference was held in Paris to establish the terms of the peace between the victorious Allied powers and the defeated nations. Although representatives from around 30 countries participated, the Conference was dominated by Great Britain, France, Italy and the United States, who became known as the ‘Big Four’. Lasting a year from January 1919 to January 1920, the Conference established treaties with Germany, Bulgaria, Austria, Hungary and Turkey, and inaugurated the League of Nations. 

These are pages from three memoranda prepared by Sir Erle Richards, a senior civil servant, for the consideration of the Eastern Committee of the British War Cabinet. Each memorandum gives a brief history of the territories in question, summarises the British commitments in Syria, Arabia and Palestine, and outlines British policy to be pursued at the Peace Conference.

Full title:
Peace conference: memoranda respecting Syria, Arabia and Palestine
Report / Map
Usage terms
Public Domain
Held by
British Library

Related articles

Making and breaking nations

Article by:
Professor David Stevenson
Origins, outbreak and conclusions

World War One resulted in radical changes to national boundaries. Professor David Stevenson explains the changes that took place in Europe's political geography.

Related collection items